Different occupations for Vetassess and DIAC

Guest brandyslad

Guest brandyslad

I completed my degree in Marketing and therefore for Vetassess I am getting my skills assessed as a Market research analyst however my work experience over the last few years has been as a Community Worker, will it matter that my Vetassess is in a different occupation to what I am proving my work experience in, i.e Community Worker??

Both are on the SOL list and on SA's list, am i ok to do this?

• 2 weeks later...
Guest Simon&Hayleigh

Hello Brandyslad

No worries at all, you will be fine. Vetassess only assess the qualification (degree) they don't look at any work experience. They look at the duration of the degree, whether it is equivalent to an Australian degree, the institution through which you studied and the education system in the country where the institution is located. So you will be fine.

My advice to you though would be to make your nominated occupation for vetassess 'community worker' as it will be easier to prove your experience and to gather your reference letters for your actual visa application later on, as this is the work you have really been doing. Otherwise you will have to get really creative in trying to convince the DIAC that the work you were doing as a community worker was actually the work of a "Market research analyst"!

So in short, vetassess don't assess your degree against your nominated occupation, they only assess the degree itself, I hope this makes sense, we have done our skills assessment at vetassess a few months ago, if you really want to be sure, ask an immigration agent, they will confirm it for you.

Good luck!

Simon

Guest Simon&Hayleigh

Hi again Brandyslad