Scary news about sa economy & jobs

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/business/sa-business-journal/huge-jobs-blow-as-1-billion-whyalla-mineral-processing-plant-scrapped/story-e6fredel-1226625701363

Dear Friends

I just read the news that SA economy is the worst performer in Australia. I have SA state sponsored PR and planning to migrate permanently in March 2014. The above news item is scary and increasing the fear on unknown.

I am a professional accountant with vast experience but ready to accept entry level job. Any comments are welcome about the current job availability and prospects for accountants in near future.

I will be happy to read some moral boasting comments/advice to help me to gather my energies for big move.

Regards

Guest NewInOz

Hello,

You won't have surprised anyone living in South Australia with your news about SA being the worst economic performer in Australia. I think it is probably as well that I see that you will be prepared to accept "entry level job" as you put it as many will agree with me on this forum that UK qualifications are widely ignored or dismissed out of hand in South Australia (maybe Australia-wide, who knows?). No matter how well-qualified you might be, you will find most people have to re-start at the bottom over here, whether they like it or not. That said, a number of Poms I know and meet through my line of work, particularly trades people, tell me that they are earning more over here than they were in the UK and that their Aussie employers prefer Poms or Brits or whatever we want to call ourselves, to Aussies, because of a better work ethic. For many tradespeople the working hours are preferable, usually 7.00 am to 2.30 or 3.00 pm as well. I know that won't particularly interest you but I put that comment in as others thinking of coming to Adelaide will be reading this too.