how is the work situation over there ??

Guest anton

Guest anton

hi am new to this and would like any advice anyone could give. we are looking to move to oz , we were trying for perth but being a carpenter you now require a job offer and finding it difficult to get one so after looking into Adelaide we have moved our search to south oz. just wondering how work situation is there and is it easy to find work . I have been a carpenter for more than 20yrs had my skills assessed by vetassess and got my certificate 111 in carpentry in oct 12". I also have an hnc in construction management and would like to know if I would find work easy enough over there. we have 3 small boys and my wife is a hairdresser also . any comment would be a help

Edited by anton

Guest mactac

Work situation is bad. Unemployment rate is approx 7.1% but actually much higher if you exclude part time work.

Personally I would put it at 10% + and going to get harder with the closure of Holden.

Only Tasmania is worse.

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/south-australia/unemployment-rate-in-south-australia-hits-highest-level-since-2001/story-fni6uo1m-1226879883515

Now having said that.....before I get attacked :rolleyes:

Who knows, your skills may be in demand here.

Maybe someone here will know how carpentry and hairdressing are doing ?

Guest ColinOz

And you'll see others that see an empty glass as full (of air) and don't actually post the true situation.

:mad:. In Adelaide is more about who you know that what you know.

Guest anton

I though all Australia had a thriving economy !!! trying to get away from that as uk has been bad for yrs now and looks like it be yrs before it get better again

Mmmmm Anton, maybe you should be looking not quite so far south as Oz, SE UK is booming for good trades people at the moment. Bricklayers in Central London are demanding over £500 a day due to shortages.