Migration Agent or no Migration agent??

Guest familygood

Guest familygood

Hi,

As you can see from our signature. We are in the process of applying for a 475 state sponsored visa. We paid for 6 months email support from a migration agent which we have found useful. They also have a good form filler programme you can use for advice on the forms etc. and have given us a full breakdown of what is needed when sending documents etc. As you can see we are already a way down the line in the process.

They have now offered us a reduced rate for their full migration services. Do people think its worth having? We seem to have done ok so far but now have to apply for SA sponsorship then the dreaded big Visa app. Do you think the benefits of a migration agent are worth the expense? I am a contract manager so fairly offay with legal jargon/forms etc. What added value do you think they provide (if any!)?

Any thoughts appreciated!

Emma

Guest vikkiann

We used an agent because my hubby is self employed but with regards to the forms we filled them all in and our agent just checked everything then lodged online. If your's is straight forward i would advise to do it yourself. Our agent charged us £2700 which is money that could have been spent elsewhere but because it was a complex case i wanted it done right the first time. i hope this makes sense.

Vikki

Hi Emma

As you can see from our signature we are going down the same path as yourselves.

I haven't used an agent and have found the whole process to be fairly straight forward. If you make good use of the DIAC website and the SA website then all the information/documents that are required are listed and can be printed off and used as a checklist.