Need Advice about rental agent - plumbing issues

Guest Glindy

Guest Glindy

Am posting on here in the hope someone can advise me.

I have been renting a 3 bedroomed house for over 18 months now, and from day one we have had plumbing issues with the toilet blocking up, basically when I flush it the water comes to the top and stays there until a plumber comes out, this has happened 25 times this year alone, and I ring the agent and they send a plumber out later that day, and it fixes it for approximately two weeks. The plumber has done a report on it and has found out that pipes underneath the ground are mis-aligned in several places, however the real estate agent said that the owner does not want to spend the money to fix it, however they will pay for the plumber to come out whenever it is needed.

I am at the end of my tether with it all now as we only have one toilet and it has been blocked the whole weekend. I have rang the rent tribunals and they basically said it wouldn't be worth pursuing this with them, I even rang the council who came out and looked at it, and didn't know what to do to be honest.

I am just wondering if it is worth my while in getting a solicitor of my own, as this is unacceptable. My daughter who is 4 is frightened of even sitting on the toilet now, she thinks the water is always going to come to the top. I am constantly put out for the day waiting in on the plumber to come, even he told me it is the worst situation he has ever come across. And then when the plumber does come, the smell in the house is woeful for a whole day.

Sorry for the huge moan, am sick to the teeth of this, and before you say move on, well that is another story in itself, getting a rental in Adelaide is a bloody nightmare.

Just wanted advice on what you reckon I should do now? Thanks