Long term car rental

Guest misschief3003

Guest misschief3003

Hi there. Does anyone know anyone that does cheap long term car rental. We car afford to buy straight away as all money goin on the relocation, we are going to either buy a cheap second hand car or get a month or two of rental. Anyone know anyone good and cheap?

Defo agree with above post. Money was tight for us when we arrived - we both needed a car , and we managed to buy two decent cars for $5k......a ford KA and a Pyzer (kids refused to get in that one, but petrol consumption was good!)

Renting cars is so expensive - there are alot of private sales and many put their cars on the side of roads to sell - so it shouldnt be a problem getting a cheap run a round.

Sarahx

Guest misschief3003

Hi thanks for that. I'm a sales manager and was expecting a company car in my package but aren't getting one now so thiinkinh of we get cheap runaround then maybe rent till we save for a nicer one. Is it also true you can't get car finance till your a perm resident. Thanks thunder road got your pm x

No worries. To answer your question. You can get car finance on a temp visa, however the duration of the finance can not exceed your visa end date. For example, if your on a 2 year 457 visa, the car finance will be financed over that period. However, within that time, your visa and circumstances may change to a more long term arrangement and your arranged finance may be restructured.

In our experience not all dealerships will give finance as they see new arrivals as a risk due to no credit history. You may also need a deposit of around 5%

Guest misschief3003

Ah thanks for that, that's great info. We are on a 4 yr 457 so that's good to know. This site is bloody brilliant. The amount of things people have told me have been fab, I really can't thank you all enough. No doubt I'll have a million more questions. Now in the process of finding the cheapest shipping company to get my gear over xx