Applying for jobs from the UK

Guest maxfactornackerlacker

Guest maxfactornackerlacker

I have just started applying for jobs in Adelaide, although I am still in the UK. I am curious as to how many people have managed to secure jobs like this before they got over there ?

I am a supply chain operations manager, and my wife is a hairdresser. Basically, we are planning to go out to Adelaide in January 2013, if we have not secured a job before then. If we do manage to secure a job before then, we will leave immediately !

I have looked on 'seek', and a few other recruitment sites. I have applied for numerous roles, although I am a little pessamistic about the chances of employers taking me seriously as i am not in the country yet. I do accept that I would probably frown at recruiting someone who wasn't even in the country, espescially as the best we could do would be a telephone interview ?

Anyway, has anyone experienced this issue, and what might be the best plan of action?

ny help would be really appreciated,as we are desperate to get out there as soon as we can.

max

Hi, we were advised not to bother applying for jobs in the UK, were told Adelaide was very much a networking place and employers would want to meet us.

We have different careers, but wouldn't have stood a chance from UK, too many other people already here, so as you point out, why employ someone not in Aus. Some people do manage to secure jobs, but they usually seem to hate them and leave quicky, so its probably a case of premium employers recruit locally.

The good news is your wifes a hairdresser, we've seen so many jobs for hairdressers here, I will bet she finds work first. They earn enough for 2 people to live on, at least while your searching. Some may disagree, but I would run with, keep an eye on jobs but don't apply, focus on UK end, and try and give yourself as bigger cushion $ wise as you possibly can. Good luck.