Adelaide or Perth?

Guest RobJ1978

Guest RobJ1978

Hi all,

This is my first post....

Let me introduce you to my family. Were currently going through the immigration process - still early days but were looking at Adelaide or Perth as potential places to move to. My wife is a nurse and I am a journalist, we have two girls aged six and two. Ive been to Australia three times (I have family in NSW) and it was my pleasure to show my wife and young family this wonderful country this time last year. She loved it and we made the lifechanging decision late last year.

We want to make it on our own and from the research we have done so far (difficult being 10,000 miles away in the UK) we believe Perth and Adelaide offer our family the chance to fulfil that dream.

My wife has friends who live in Perth and they were saying that Perth is a much nicer place to settle than Adelaide. But they're bound to say that aren't they?

So firstly, what do you guys think. Perth or Adelaide? What are the job prospects/opportunities in Adelaide currently like? Is it a good place to bring a young family?

We can't wait to make the move but research is crucial. Can anyone suggest any decent websites, books or people to talk to who can help research Adelaide or indeed Perth?

Thanks

Rob

Guest guest3462

Hi there, many people have the same dilemma of Perth and adeladie, in fact when we made our reccie trip in 2008 we actually went to Perth and stayed with our family. We love Perth and definately thought we could settle there especially having family there for support. Then we came to visit our best friends in Adelaide who had moved 6 months earlier. We only came here for A veryQuick 4 day stay and totally fell invloce with the place, so much that we actually secured work, bought a block of land and comissined a house build- all within that 4 day period!!!!