4 months in.....

samandcraig

Hi guys, so me and my family have been in Adelaide four months now and I just wanted to share our journey so far. We have been lucky and my husband found a carpenter job within two weeks. This is at a low wage but it's with a company and we are on a 489 visa so we see it an advantage as he has a permanent contract so should hopefully get the first 12 months in secure work. We do have to subsidise if we are out and about at the weekend, but we have got a reasonably expensive rental, so if we had chosen a cheaper rental we would be fine.

I worked in retail back home and have applied for quite a few jobs without any luck, but I haven't really pushed myself to be honest as I've been making sure the kids are settling in. Which they seem to be. Schooling is different here, the teachers don't seem to be as loving as they are back in the UK if that makes sense? My 5 year old daughter is very independent and confident so she is doing amazingly well, my son on the other hand has struggled (he's 12) he's a lot quieter and was shy even back in the UK. He does seem to be getting there and has started to meet new friends and is actually enjoying school now.

I sometimes question that I have made the right decision bringing my family to the other side of the world, but I look around at a beautiful place with so many amazing things to do and the doubt never stays for too long!! My son is going to be doing guitar lessons, and art classes, he does swimming lessons on a Wednesday, he had surfing lessons also. My daughter does Irish dancing, swimming lessons and plays soccer!

Building confidence and gaining independence seems to be a big thing here in the school my children go to and I think those are two of the greatest things to help you along in life!!